Unit 60 – RRSP Vote Results

October 25, 2019 - On October 23 and 24, 2019, meetings were held in Langley and Burnaby respectively for Unit 60 members under the Vancouver/Richmond, Surrey/Langley and Abbotsford Shaw Collective Agreements. The purpose of these meetings was to discuss and vote upon a proposal to change the financial institution that members’ RRSP funds would be initially deposited at to the Bank of Montreal.

Each of the three Unit 60 bargaining units (Vancouver/Richmond, Surrey/Langley, and Abbotsford) decide independently whether the change is ratified for that bargaining unit alone.

The Ballot Committee, consisting of Steve McWhirter, Local Union Rep, and Michael Phillips, Secretary-Treasurer, met in Burnaby on October 25, 2019, to count the ballots.

The results are as follows:

Vancouver/Richmond: Yes 95%, No 5%. The proposed change passes for Vancouver/Richmond members.

Surrey/Langley: Yes 83%, No 17%. The proposed change passes for Surrey/Langley members.

Abbotsford: The proposed change did not pass for Abbotsford members.

For more information on the proposal, please contact Unit 60 Counsellor Corey Mandryk at 778-235-4444.

In Solidarity,

USW Local 1944