Join in 2019 Pride events

 July 30, 2019 - Pride events are taking place until September. Our Local recognizes and supports the struggles of our LGBTQ members. All individuals should be treated as being equally deserving of respect, dignity and freedom. We must continue to change mentalities and build safe work environments for all of our members. Pride events are the opportunity to support human rights for all.

Show solidarity by volunteering or attending a Pride parade or event! Below is a non-exhaustive list of Pride events organized in the 4 Provinces where our members work. 

ALBERTA
August 10–18, Central Alberta Pride Week: centralalbertapride.ca
August 23–September 2, Calgary Pride: calgarypride.ca 

BRITISH COLUMBIA
August 2, Prince George Pride Parade and Festival: facebook.com/events/792270121141140
August 4, Vancouver Pride Parade: vancouverpride.ca
August 17, New Westminster Pride: newwestpride.ca
August 25, Kamloops Pride Parade: kamloopspride.com
September 1, Kootenay Pride: facebook.com/events/588172198342941 

ONTARIO
July 29–August 17, Simcoe Pride: simcoepride.com
August 6–11, Windsor-Essex Pride Fest: wepridefest.com
August 17, Chatham-Kent Pride: ckpride.com
August 17, Barrie Pride: barriepride.com
August 18–25, Ottawa Capital Pride: ottawacapitalpride.ca
September 13–22, Peterborough Pride: peterboroughpride.ca 

QUEBEC
August 8–18, Montréal Pride: fiertemtl.com
August 20–25, Sherbrooke Pride: fierelafete.ca
August 29–September 1, Québec City: fetearcenciel.ca 

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION AND VOLUNTEERS

August 4 is Vancouver’s Pride Parade. Join in the celebrations with members and friends from Local 1944 and USW District 3. Meet by 12:00 pm on Robson Street between Thurlow and Burrard Streets (Zone 1, North Side, Slot 1). We will be in the multi-pride with the BC Federation of Labour.

September 1 is Calgary’s Pride Parade! The Alberta Federation of Labour is looking for volunteers to help them out. Sign up to join them at http://1944.fyi/Kktfh4.

SHOW YOUR PRIDE 

Send us photos of your participation in Pride events! Simply email them to [email protected].

In Solidarity,

USW Local 1944