October 13, 2020 - The 2020 Provincial Election is now underway in British Columbia. This election, there are more ways to vote than ever:

September 28, 2020 - The BC Federation of Labour is holding its 59th Constitutional Convention, on November 24, 25 and 26, 2020.

March 8, 2019 - On International Women’s Day, organizations and governments around the globe denounce gender inequalities and typically make promises to challenge the gender pay gap. What if a few years from now, on International Women’s Day, we were finally celebrating gender parity, respect and inclusivity?

March 7, 2019 - This morning, USW Local 1944 was advised that a water main froze, currently rendering the water system inoperable at Telus’ Barrie Call Centre (Ontario). Members from Unit 501 were sent home last night.

March 1, 2019 - Hello Members,

With great sadness, I wish to inform you that one of USW Local 1944’s staff members, Kate Wood, passed away Saturday, February 23.

February 26, 2019 - As we celebrate Pink Shirt Day on Wednesday, February 27th, 2019, Local 1944 reaffirms its commitment to build bullying-free workplaces. 

In Canada, the legislation from some jurisdictions provide a range of acceptable temperatures for specific circumstances. In other cases, occupational health and safety jurisdictions use the Threshold Limit Values® for cold stress as published by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH). Some Canadian jurisdictions have adopted these TLVs as occupational exposure limits and others use them as guidelines.

February 1, 2019 - Black History Month gives us the opportunity to recognize the contributions of the black community throughout the country.

January 30, 2019 - Today, Local 1944 Executive Board members were sworn-in at the Leo W. Gerard Union Centre in Mississauga, Ontario. Congratulations are extended to the new Executive Board.

January 4, 2019 - The Administrators of USW Local 1944 have accepted the Local Union Election Tellers Report for the elections of the two Regional Executive Officers for Alberta.