Results of the 2017 USW International Executive Board Nomination Vote
Posted 2017-Sep-27

Yesterday, members of the TWU, USW National Local 1944 conducted nominations for the 2017 USW International Elections.

The nominations were conducted by secret ballot through telephone and internet voting. Results were verified through Intelivote Systems Inc. The results of the nomination vote are as follows:

Leo W. Gerard for International President 86.9% 13.1%
Stan Johnson for International Secretary-Treasurer 88.6% 11.4%
Thomas M. Conway for International Vice-President (Administration) 89.7% 10.3%
Fred Redmond for International Vice-President (Human Affairs) 90.1% 9.9%
Ken Neumann for National Director of Canada 88.0% 12.0%
Jon Geenen for International Vice-President 86.7% 13.3%
Carol Landry for International Vice-President At Large 88.3% 11.7%
Stephen Hunt for Director of USW District 3 83.1% 16.9%
Alain Croteau for Director of USW District 5 95.2% 4.8%
Marty Warren for Director of USW District 6 100% 0%


*District Director nominations were conducted by TWU, USW National Local 1944 members residing in their home District, i.e. members in BC and AB could only nominate the District 3 Director, members in QC could only nominate the District 5 Director, and members in ON could only nominate the District 6 Director.

Our Local has nominated the names above to run in the USW International Executive Board Election in November, for the positions indicated. Please note that an eligible USW member will only be placed on the election ballot in November if they are nominated by the required number of Locals.

Thank you for taking part in our Union's democratic process.

In Solidarity,

Telecommunications Workers Union, United Steelworkers National Local 1944