Pride Month 2018
Posted 2018-May-24

In June we celebrate Pride Month, a time dedicated to uniting and empowering people with diverse sexual orientations and gender identities.

 
 
Under the banner of joy and creativity, Pride Month fosters inclusion by celebrating love, diversity, and equality for all.
 
 
It is our duty as a union to recognize and support the struggles of our LGBTQ members. All individuals should be treated as equals, a moral value that the USW Local 1944, including its Civil & Human Rights Committee, relentlessly work on transforming into practical reality.
 
Despite the progress accomplished over the past few years, LGBTQ Canadians still face daily discrimination and persecution simply for being who they are. Because this situation is simply not tolerable in 2018, we must continue to change mentalities and build safe work environments for all of our brothers and sisters. Pride Month is the opportunity to support human rights for all.
 
USW Local 1944 encourages our members to show solidarity by volunteering or attending a Pride parade or event. Please find below a non-exhaustive list of Pride events organized in the 4 Provinces represented by our Local.
 
British Columbia
June 30, Surrey Pride Festival: www.surreypride.ca
July 1-8, Victoria Pride: http://victoriapridesociety.org
July 7, Prince George Pride Parade and Festival: www.facebook.com/events/174725606516232
July 14, Fraser Valley Pride Celebration: www.facebook.com/FraserValleyPride
August 5, Vancouver Pride Parade: www.vancouverpride.ca
August 11-18, Kelowna Pride: www.kelownapride.com/events-and-pride
August 11-18, New Westminster Pride: http://newwestpride.ca/index.html
August 13, Haida Gwaii Pride: www.facebook.com/events/617433145088522
August 26, Kamloops Pride Week: www.kamloopspride.com/prideweek
September 1-4, Kootenay Pride: www.facebook.com/kootenaypride
 
Alberta
June 8-17, Edmonton Pride Festival: www.edmontonpride.ca
June 15-23, Lethbridge Pride Fest: http://lethbridgepride.ca/lethbridge-pride-fest-2018
August 12-19, Central Alberta Pride Week: http://centralalbertapride.ca
August 24-September 3, Calgary Pride: www.calgarypride.ca
 
Ontario
May 25-27, Elliot Lake Pride: www.elpride.ca
May 26, Haldimand-Norfolk Pride: www.facebook.com/haldimandnorfolkpride
May 27-June 3, Pride Durham: www.pridedurham.org
June 2-3, Cambridge-Kitchener-Waterloo tri-Pride: http://tri-pride.ca
June 2-9, Niagara Region Pride Week: http://prideniagara.com
June 3-9, Belleville Pride: www.bellevillepride.ca
June 3-10, Barrie Pride Week: www.barriepride.com
June 4-10, Brockville Pride Week: www.brockvillepride.com
June 4-10, Stratford Pride Week: www.facebook.com/events/1961985090782460
June 4-10, Timmins Pride Week: www.timminspride.com
June 9-16, Thunder Pride: www.thunderpride.ca
June 11-16, Brantford Pride: www.brantfordpride.ca
June 16, Kingston Pride: www.kingstonpride.ca
June 16, Oxford Pride: http://oxfordpride.ca/pride-2017
June 16, York Pride: http://yorkpridefest.com
June 17, Hamilton Pride: www.facebook.com/pridehamilton
June 22-24, Kenora Pride: www.kenorapride.com
June 22-24, Toronto Pride Festival: www.pridetoronto.com
July 18-21, North Bay Pride: www.facebook.com/events/293704124435095
July 19-29, London Pride: www.pridelondon.ca
July 20-29, Muskoka Pride Festival: www.muskokapride.com
July 30-August 12, Simcoe Pride: www.simcoepride.com
August 8-12, Windsor-Essex Pride Fest: www.wepridefest.com
August 18, Chatham-Kent Pride: www.facebook.com/events/842227599318946
August 20-26, Ottawa Capital Pride: http://ottawacapitalpride.ca
September 14-23, Peterborough Pride: www.peterboroughpride.ca
 
Québec
August 9-19, Montréal Pride: www.fiertemontrealpride.com/en
August 21-25, Sherbrooke Pride: http://fierelafete.ca
August 30-September 2, Québec City: http://fetearcenciel.ca
 
In Solidarity,
 
USW Local 1944